ruico: (Default)
 Oo, I adore this challenge! 

Challenge #9 - In your own space, list your Fandom Wrap categories. Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

What are your top five fandoms for 2021 based on the amount of time you interacted with them?
1. Genshin Impact, no doubt.
2. Omniscient Reader's Viewpoint
3. Red Candy
4. I Favor The Villainess
5. Mass Effect (mostly inactive, but I'll never stop loving it)
 
What are your top five fandom spaces in terms of time spent? (AO3, Twitter, Tumblr, Reddit, Dreamwidth, and others)
1. Twitter, sadly...
2. Youtube! See my fandom resources for an explanation, lol. Not much transformative fandom over what I watched, but I still had loads of fun!
3. AO3 - I didn't really read much, but I still got a few fics in, and enjoyed those greatly. Hopefully this year, it'll be higher on the list.
4. Reddit - I am not good at using this one for fandom, lol, but I enjoy checking certain subreddits occasionally! 
5. Dreamwidth -- I was not as active at all as I wanted, but hoping to rectify that this year! 
 
What are the top five ways you interacted in these fandoms? (Reading fanfic, writing, commenting, watching videos, chatting with friends, making art, or anything else you can think of).
1. Chatting with friends. I even had some issues on this front, but I'm still immensely grateful.
2. Writing! Despite not having shared any of my writing yet, I still really had fun with it.
3. Watching videos -- mainly gameplay and theories. Lots of great content out there.
4. Reading fics -- I don't think I commented much, but I really enjoyed it and gave the kudos I could. I hope to be brave enough to engage more with strangers in fandom this year.
5. ... Playing the actual game. I have to be honest, this is what I threw the most hours into, but I wasn't about to put that in as number one, lol!
 
What are the top five things you did to contribute to fandom in terms of time? Did you write? Comment? Send positive energy into the universe? Create art?
1. Playing the game. ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ Way too much. Please get a life, Rui.
2. Talking to friends. I helped out with inspiration when getting stuck sometimes too, so I'd like to think I did play a small part in my friends sharing their works.
3. Writing! I wrote very on and off, my usual "doesn't write for a month" vs "goes into a daze and spits out 30k in a week". Once again I am hoping to become more consistent this year -- I'd rather go slower and continue doing it with less blocks and breaks!
4. Drawing. Just for myself, I know I am really into stuff when it makes me want to draw again for the characters. (ʃƪ ˘◡˘)♡
5. Crying... I wish I was kidding. _(┐「(、ン、)_
 
What things did you create that took the most time?
1. I think it was this story I wanted to write about a character attempting to defy their own fate for the one they loved! I still would like to continue it one day, I got pretty far.
2. I don't remember, haha. I think it might be an introspective series I attempted that was pretty much just about the main character from others' points of view.
3. This one AU I wrote purely for smutty reasons. Will never see the light of day, it is incredibly self-indulgent, and I had a lot of fun with it. ♡
4. I wrote a double agent canon divergence fic -- technically, it could work with current canon, but I'm definitely not expecting the twist to actually turn out to be canon later on. I almost prefer this character as more of a himbo, but I still had fun exploring the dynamics in the story.
5. I spent a lot of time lying in bed daydreaming about scenarios with the characters I enjoy. Time well spent. (*´ ˘ `*).。oO ( ♡ )
 
Have a Top 5 List you'd like to share?? By all means! -- I do, in fact!

Top 5 goals that will make my next year's list look a lot more fun!
1. Write more -- post more. 
2. Be more active on dreamwidth.
3. Don't feel bad about blocking or muting people on twitter, curate your own fandom space!
4. Stop caring about whether you are good enough at stuff before beginning. You sure as hell won't become good enough if you refuse to practice or work on it.
5. Be more decisive and care less.


This one was super fun! I'm happy to see that I'm still hopeful for my future in fandom, and it's nice remembering that despite feeling like it, it's not like I didn't do anything last year. I love questionnaire-style things like this, 

ruico: (Default)
Slowly catching up! Since I wasn't feeling ... being online or existing in general, I hadn't checked out snowflake challenge and missed this and the next challenge completely, so I haven't had time to think much about it!

Challenge #8 - In your own space, celebrate a personal win from the past year: it can be a list of fanworks you're especially proud of, a gift of your time to the community, a quality or skill you cultivated in yourself, something you generally feel went well. Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.
 


ヾ(。ꏿ﹏ꏿ)ノ゙<- me realising I can't come up with anything... I've really been struggling with fandom for a long while, lol!

I guess I have a little bit -- despite things getting bad for a while, I'm really happy I didn't lose my love for the game I am currently into. I also did start writing last year, even if I didn't quite reach my goal. I was super close, though! And I wrote a lot more than I expected. I also started drawing a bit again, and while I slowed down a bit on that front again and haven't really felt much progress, I remember looking through a notebook where I saw two sketches and thought not bad. This is quite a rare feeling for me! (~˘▾˘)~

In general, I guess what I most think of when looking back is the bad times, and there were sort of a lot of those, fandom wise. I still had a really good time playing the game I enjoyed, and I had a lot of personal wins in my life, such as new job and apartment, so I don't want to complain. And I'm really hopeful about this coming year! 
ruico: (Default)
Hello again! I took a break bc no inspiration, but back on my bullshit. :3

Challenge #7 - In your own space, tell us about 3 fandom resources, spaces, or communities you use or enjoy. (One or two is fine, especially if you're in a smaller fandom!) Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

This one was hard, because at first I thought I no longer really used any fandom resources, but I thought further about it, and then I got a bit embarrassed, bc the resources I use aren't very directed at transformative fandom, but rather just the game aspect. Yes, I'm still talking about Genshin Impact.

I don't really feel the need to link any specific things, because there's no actual site I consistently go to before checking google. For character builds, I search for "*character name* build" and usually check the top 3 links, mainly game8.co, gamewith.net, and genshin.gg. I also like watching youtube vids that explain a bit more about how to use the characters, combos and teams, etc. -- having done a lot of the hard work for me already.

I enjoy honeyimpact for checking out either stuff from the beta (yes I don't mind leaks lol) or voicelines/lore, but I also like the genshin wikia for specific character info or lore on the NPCs, places, etc. that I don't remember. I guess this is quite useful for fic writing and such!

In general I've already complained a lot about the twitter fandom, and tiktok + instagram are both much worse. I really enjoy youtube, though, because you can find videos for pretty much anything you are into. I really like lore vids and, yeah, builds + tests and such. I absolutely love that the game has so many different aspects that I can enjoy in so many different ways. 

I also have my own spreadsheet, so I guess I am sort of my own resource as well, lol. I wish I could share a good community, but I have yet to find one. Sorry, this one was very fandom specific! I guess as a general one, it's easy enough to say dw, and snowflake challenge. I am really enjoying getting to know so many different people with even more differing interests!
ruico: (Default)
Crying... I forgot to do 6 before 7. Hopefully I can change up the order lol! 

Challenge #6 - In your own space, Create something. Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

Sadly I will not be able to show anything off, but I have a project I finally started working on that I've wanted to do for a while! It's some fairly simple graphic prints that I wanted to make and hang up in my bathroom (lol), and they are all fandom related (specifically, star trek, star wars, mass effect). Ah... I really hope it turns out how I hoped. Since I haven't finished I can't share, but I'll show the results when it's done!! I'm really excited, I find it super fun and it'll be personal to me. Can't wait to look up at them and smile whenever I take a shit. (´꒳`)
 
ruico: (Default)
Hello again! Going strong with the snowflake challenge, not so much with everything else in my life, lol! Short side note, todays goals are: going to bed before 2am, shower right after posting this, preparing lunch for tomorrow ahead!

Challenge #5 - In your own space, talk about an idea you wish you had the time / talent / energy to do. Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

I have so many of these that I am going to have a hard time choosing. In fact, I might just go ahead and pick 3 instead.

1. I had this fic idea last summer, about Beijing opera, focusing on a Genshin Impact character that wasn't out yet, mainly just mentioned by others in passing. I wanted to focus on the friendship between two chars I don't really care much for together outside of this fic idea, despite their relationship being one of the most popular ones in the fandom, lol. Sadly, the character is out now and it feels 'too late'.

2. I had a painting idea, where I wanted to do a fannish version of the kiss by Gustav Klimt with a pairing I like. One of the characters also has a golden theme with lovely geometrical patterns that would suit it so well. Sadly, I am not good at oil painting, lol.

3. Just one last "ah, I wish I did this when I had it planned, but now it's too late" general statement. I have so many ideas that I am excited about, but then stuff happens in canon or fanon that technically makes it even better, but my brain is idiotic about doing things before, I think I still have a tiny "I liked it before it's big" kid living inside me, lol! I sadly have way too many situations like this from last year, where I figured out something would happen in the game (Genshin Impact) and wanted to write a story about it, but then others started talking about it, and I was like welp... too late. It's never too late, self! You are just a little coward! But I guess working on being more chill about invisible and inexistent deadlines is also something I can work on this year. And learning oil painting, lol.

Fun fact: even with stuff like snowflake, I also tend to get super anal about doing things 'the right way', not that I care about how others do it, it's just rules for myself. But like, having to do all challenges, having to do them in the right order, etc. Even though it's mentioned countless times that it's a chill challenge, but my brain does not listen, haha! ٩(๑`ȏ´๑)۶
ruico: (Default)
Hello! I'm early today, after fighting with myself on whether or not I wanted to attempt challenge 3.
 
Challenge #4 - In your own space, make a list of things that you wish existed in fandom or elsewhere, and/or that you'd like someone to create or do for you. Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.
 
I'm gonna settle on three things, as mentioned in the challenge post as a possibility, because that's much easier.

1. friends who are into this otome game I've recently gotten into. I miss fandoms for this, I feel like people in the circles I see tend to shame them a bit, and I am all for 100% self indulgent shit.

2. accountability/general fic discussion friends/chats. I used to be in a group chat with some friends where we would do word wars and talk about our fics when needed, but decided to leave it after I went through some stuff and no longer enjoyed it.

3. book clubs and/or new writing challenges!

Maybe the loneliest-sounding list ever, lol! Thing is, recently I haven't been trying to find specific fancontent as much as I have been wishing for -- not quite seeking yet -- communities to share my love with.
For a while I've been mainly in isolation mode, trying to just focus on what I like for myself, but I've definitely started missing talking about stuff with people, even if we necessarily aren't into the exact same stuff. Maybe that actually makes it easier, because then there's no weirdness about maybe disagreeing over stuff, just people doing their own things, but together.

I'm definitely taking it slow with fandom friends, because right now my main focus is to just enjoy fandom, which is also why a goal of mine is looking more into developing friendships in general that I can do fandom with, not looking for specific fandom friends that I only talk to about a current interest.

I don't even have any fan content wishes per se at the moment, since I barely read as is, and I have no particular wishes about fan art or other things either.

Really excited to look into other people's posts, I think that's still my favourite part of the snowflake challenge! Even though I probably will not be of much help with getting any wishes fulfilled.



Snowflake Challenge promotional banner featuring  an image of a coffee cup and saucer on a sheet with a blanket and baby’s breath and a layer of snowflakes. Text: Snowflake Challenge January 1-31.
ruico: (Default)
Hi! I actually saw the challenge for day 3 right as it came and originally wanted to post something real quick, then decided against it. I'm still not really sure how I'll do this, so take this as a warning for a somewhat confused and very much unorganised ramble ahead. 

Challenge #3 - In your own space, put some favorite characters into an AU, fuse some favorite canons together, talk about your favorite AU/fusion tropes, or tell us why AU/fusions aren’t your cup of tea. Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

I recently started thinking about an AU of Genshin Impact, in which the characters involved are pro gamers, playing a made up competitive version of the game itself. While do not have a strong opinion on pro gamer AUs (well -- not my fav, to be exact), I think the interesting aspect is how the AU itself is shaped by canon. Since I decided to base the game off of the real thing (spiral abyss, but more competitive and multiplayer, with everyone only playing one character, more PvP focused, etc), I had a lot to take inspiration from, which I both find fun and interesting as the author, but I'd also enjoy it as reader, the fact that you can recognise things from the original piece of media, even if its changed completely so that it fits into the new, different alternative universe. The story itself actually sprang from an idea I had after thinking about the relationship between two characters, and how I would try to write it in a more normal setting (one character being created by the other, for the other).

I think the point was that the AU itself can be great or horrible, or just boring and unfitting, depending on the canon and how you choose to adapt it into the setting. 

The only specific AU I could come up with is Pacific Rim, and I'm happy its becoming a classic in fanfics. It works incredibly well with exploring relationships, both romantic and platonic, and it features two of the objectively best things ever: mecha and kaiju.

Another fun kind of AU is also the unexpected ones, where you feel the author's passion for the subject shine through. For example, if it's a special interest of theirs, something they know from where they grew up, their object of study, or their profession. I think the author's own thoughts and how they worked on the AU can really make or break it.

I have one specific example I often think about! One thing that bothers me in a lot of stories is how many writers, especially westerns (and particularly US-americans), tend to forget about culture differences and assume that we all work and think the same way around the world. This often happens in university and high school AUs, and I remember once reading a fic (for the kpop-group Seventeen) about the experience of being an exchange student in the US. Because it wasn't just "these characters, but if American and set in the US", but something where the author really showed deep thought behind their choices, it was a lovely read. It was also a very personal story, showing their own experiences growing up in an Asian household in west coast USA. I would normally avoid the hell out of stories with the tags it had, but I gave it a chance anyway, and was positively surprised and enjoyed it a lot.

That's a lot of words about nothing! I think my key takeaway from thinking about it is that I do enjoy AUs! But my favourite part isn't as much what kind they are, but how they're done, and how people make it match with what they've decided to bring from canon.

I'm still trying to figure out whether I want this post locked or not, I might delete it since it doesn't really serve much of a purpose. I wrote and deleted quite a bit, and I'm still not quite feeling it. Anyway, I really wanted to try anyway, and I'm gonna curiously but carefully check out other people's entries for the challenge at some point!


Snowflake Challenge promotional banner with image of crystal snowflakes on green leaves on a dark blue background. Text: Snowflake Challenge January 1-31.
ruico: (Default)
Hello again! A little snowfinch let me know that I could wait with my list that I mentioned on day 1 because there'd be a challenge that matched up quite well, and lo and behold! I didn't have to wait long.

It just so happens that I am not quite ready to write out all of my goals, and I don't think all will be public either, but I was thinking I could do some writing and fannish goals for the challenge!

Challenge #2 - In your own space, set some goals for the coming year. They can be fannish or not, public or private. Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

As mentioned, this will mainly be fannish/writing goals. I am working on setting goals for the future, and tried to divide mine into different areas after watching this one youtube video about vision boards. I wrote down a few notes for my fannish and creative areas, writing being under the latter (and, I guess you could say under the first one too, in a way).

For 'fannish' I mainly wrote down two things:

I want to post more on dreamwidth, and I want to be regularly active on here in general.

I want to start posting again on AO3. I didn't actually post anything at all in 2021, and while I know why and don't regret this, I definitely miss sharing my works, and I also miss reading other people's!

The only other platform I actively use is twitter. Currently, I only lurk outside of sometimes updating my personal, and I haven't really thought further about how I want to use Twitter fannishly, or if I want to. I think it's a super draining platform, especially with the way people are on there nowadays, so I'll leave this up for future Rui to figure out.

Writing-wise, I wanted my 'main' goal to be getting around 10k words down each month. I signed up for the 150k-pledge on [community profile] getyourwordsout, which was the closest one to my monthly goal.

Apart from that, I want to branch out and write in several fandoms again, enjoy that I fall for microfandoms, and then I'd like to focus on writing more than just fanfic -- I want to get back into writing poetry, music, and everything else my heart desires.

I was planning on getting this down in a way more structured format, but alas, that is not happening right now.

Hopefully at some point I'll be able to make a more general goals-post with an actual list, and I'm still quite happy that I already know the direction of my fannish and writing-goals for the year.
 
 Happy Monday, everyone!


Snowflake Challenge promotional banner featuring  an image of a coffee cup and saucer on a sheet with a blanket and baby’s breath and a layer of snowflakes. Text: Snowflake Challenge January 1-31.
ruico: (Default)
 Happy new year!

I originally wanted to start out the new year with a list of goals or things i wanted to do in 2022 (and onwards) but remembered the snowflake challenge. Since I'm not ready to do the final list, I figured I could start with this. Of course, the challenge proved to be a lot harder than initially expected.


Challenge #1 In your own space, update your fandom information! Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

Hello! The main reason why I didn't already make a sticky or an introduction post is that I really suck at stuff like this, it's kind of like when people ask you to put on a song and you're like "music? I've never heard a song in my life" and you instantly forget everything you've ever jammed out to.
An identity? Hobbies? Interests? Not sure that's something I have. Anyway, for the basics, I am Rui, I'm fine with any pronouns, I'm in my mid twenties, and I work as a legal consultant. I've been in fandom spaces for a little over a decade, but mainly started out in local fandoms -- also, I am not a native English speaker, so apologies if my English ever bothers or confuses you, haha. 

I've been in animanga fandoms since 2015, and I've always been a huge fan of video games, which is currently what I'm mainly into fandom wise as well. I, like many others, started playing Genshin Impact in 2021, and it's got a tight hold of me since then. I enjoy all things Genshin, pretty much -- farming, exploring, creating fancontent, theorizing and lore, etc. One thing I'm not so good at is engaging with the fandom. I find it absolutely terrifying, so I'm not actually sure this will ever be happening apart from just talking to a handful of people about it.

Apart from that, I also am very into webnovels, manhwa/manhua/manga, and am trying to get back into watching anime again as well. I'm a big fan of isekai, action, fantasy, and romance. I think I already made a few recommendations ages ago, but I'd like to get a lot better at using this journal, also for going back to see my own thoughts on what I've read and enjoyed.

I don't just want to get back into anime and tv shows, I also am trying to read more again (not counting webnovels and webtoons), and I have a long list of to read books that I want to get through. And I'd love more recommendations any time!

I don't think I currently have any 'main fandoms outside of Genshin Impact, but I'd like to get more into just writing for things I enjoy, such as: Omniscient Reader's Viewpoint, The King's Avatar, Mass Effect, Dragon Age, Honkai Impact 3rd, webnovels, etc.



Recent years, I find myself quite terrified with all the new big fandoms popping up, not that I don't enjoy the contents (see: Genshin Impact), and I remember back in 2015 when I first returned to being active-active in fandoms, where it all started with a mobile-game micofandom. I quite enjoy microfandoms and just creating for my own passion and the handful of other people who are as obsessed with the thing as I am, so I'd like to get back into just enjoying what I want and making fancontent for what I want, such as webnovels or manhwa that barely has any transformative fandoms.

I'm not really sure what this year will hold for me fandom wise, but I'm trying to make it a goal to start reading, playing, and watching more new things again. And to get better at just enjoying stuff at my own pace, because last year I got really stressed with fandom on twitter.

This journal will mainly just be about things I like or find interesting atm -- probably very often fandom stuff, writing related things, etc. You are welcome to join me, comment, or start a conversation any time. :)

This might not be the best fandom information update, but maybe one day I'll actually make a pinned post or write a proper profile -- this was a good exercise for me, though. I'm obviously still trying to figure out where I'm going from here, though.
ruico: (Default)
I was excited for this one, but didn't have any ideas until this one hit me, and now I'm really excited!! Even though I don't have a huge following on here, I still hope that someone sees it and does it at some point, and there's no need to tell me that you did it or anything, just spread some positivity and I'll be happy.  Ofc I'll do my best as well!

Day 12:
In your own space, create your own challenge.

Tell a fandom content creator whose works you enjoy about it! Doesn't matter if it's commenting on a fanfic or fanart, messaging someone about their podfic or that one playlist you found several months ago with songs that you still like listening to. Length doesn't matter either, if you want to write out all the love you have in your heart for their stuff, do that. If you just want to say you like their stuff or thank them for posting, that's great too! 

As someone who's been pretty on an off in fandom and who isn't a native English speaker, I'm very nervous about talking to strangers online, and I haven't been as good as engaging with the content I consume as I would've wanted to, but sometimes I remember how much it means and I love making an effort at making others feel appreciated, there's really nothing nicer than getting a heartfelt and happy reply from someone or knowing that you made them feel good, if even for just a moment.

I hope you guys want to do this more with me. 

ruico: (Default)
In your own space, create a list of at least three fannish things you'd love to receive, something you've wanted but were afraid to ask for - a fannish wish-list of sorts.

See, the "afraid to ask for" part gets me, because I am by nature very, very afraid, and I don't know how to turn that fear off or make it go away, not even for this challenge. ლ(´﹏`ლ) I'm really, really bad at asking things of people, not in the cutesy way but a way that holds me back in a lot of situations AND annoys a lot of people I talk to, since its not rare that it's clear I want something but have trouble articulating what it is.
Still! It's 2019, some people are going to dislike me no matter what I do, so I'll try my best!

A collaboration
This is a small dream of mine because despite my usual dislike of school group work I do like working and collaborating with others! I once had someone offer to write a fic with me when we were younger, but it was mostly (only) her ideas and nothing really came out of it in the end. I don't even have any specific needs for a collab, I just like the idea of doing a project with someone, whether that's just discussing the idea closely with a friend/beta-kind-of-person, or it's a fanartist, another writer, I'm not really sure. I think different mediums is really cool as well.

Cross-fandom fans of my works
Since it's not long ago that I started writing in English and my only posted works are for a microfandom and an animanga fandom (only one ship too), this has not happened and probably will not happen anytime soon, if ever. Still, I like the idea of someone reading my works for another fandom even though they aren't a fan of that thing just because it's me, or someone reading something and recognising my writing from something they've read (by me) in another fandom. (´꒳`)

For ao3 to include main and secondary pairings
I'm sorry, I know this is probably cheating, haha, but this one I've wanted for so long (along with many others). I do like the ao3 tagging system, but I really want this to be added as well. Also, for people using ao3 to know the difference between & and / when tagging pairings and follow it, hehe.

I saw others mention a transformative works statement and I really like that idea! I'll definitely make sure to post one before I post any fanworks myself on here in the future. ^^'
I had more ideas for things but those were more general than specific for me. But tomorrow is exam time, so no time o write down any more. Don't ask me why I decided on writing this instead of studying for the exam in the first place, because there is no good answer.


ruico: (Default)
In your own space, promote three communities, challenges, blogs, pages, Twitters, Tumblrs or platforms and explain why you love them. 

My first thought was oh no, I don't know that many, but now that I've thought about it, I'm really really excited to read other people's recommendations and learn about more communities, challenges, and such!

Get your words out -- [community profile] getyourwordsout 
gywo is a community/challenge that I've already written about in another post, but this is the one that made me focus more on dreamwidth as a platform, so I felt it was necessary to add it to the list. It's a yearlong writing challenge where you can sign up and choose your own pledge (from a number of already made ones), and then you check in every month with the community to track your progress. The community also offers a lot more, such as a spreadsheet for organization, a chat for writing sprints, and many smaller challenges. The signup deadline for 2019 is Jan 15th, so there's still time!

Elsewhere University -- tumblr
While Elsewhere University is technically based on an original comic by one person, it created a whole sort of... community or fandom, I'm not really sure what to call it. I decided to add it because I find it fascinating how it continues to grow with the help of so many different people, for example just from people sending in asks about details that could be happening there, it's super cool how people build onto it!

Archive of our own / OTW
I'm sorry, I know everyone in fandom probably already knows this one. But as a person who's quite interested in the relationship between fanworks and intellectual property rights, I'm a huge fan of OTW's works, and more so now than ever I think their work is relevant with the Tumblr issues. I feel like a lot of dreamwidth people who migrated from LJ also know about the story of ao3's creation, and I think it's important to have a site with the interests of its users in mind. Also, I just love going there and seeing all the work put in by random people simply because they love something. ♡

It might be the 6th, but I still haven't slept yet, so I'm gonna count this one as posted on time! (•̀ᴗ-)✧
ruico: (Default)
Day 2:
Rec at least three fanworks that you didn’t create.

I originally wanted to mix a few fandoms, but in the end I actually decided to go for Haikyuu!! since that's the fandom I've been most involved with in the last few years. Instead, I decided to recommend 3 different forms of fanworks, rather than just fanfic as I had planned originally.

Crowchildren -- a haikyuu!! au fanfic
WARNING FOR MCD - This fic will forever be one of my faves despite not even being focused on my favourite chars (and even sort of having notps in it). I remember reading it until 7am and crying for half an hour after that but in a nice, cathartic way? I've never read a fic with such a satisfying ending, and I remember literally googling things in the fic because I thought it was real mythology I didn't know about and not something the author made up (so yeah, I enjoy the worldbuilding too!). I will forever recommend this fic and it was the only one I knew I needed on this list.

Dream catchers -- A haikyuu!! au webcomic (still unfinished)
Fascinating worldbuilding and amazing art. This comic is mostly centered on Sawamura Daichi and Sugawara Koushi, but features a lot of other characters, and I fell for the unique and interesting artstyle on top of the super cool concept behind.

Hoshimirukorowosugitemo (Past the stargazing season) -- A haikyuu!! fanvid
Ah... this song is my baby, and the accompanying fanvid makes me feel so... idk. I just love it dearly, and the 'homemade' feel of the pencil sketches on the lined paper makes me love it even more. I'm still working on a fic that has the english title because i love it so much.


I'm sorry, I decided to delete the others, but I still wanted to share the ones recommended above, so I hope you enjoy. ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ


ruico: (Default)
a friend told me about this challenge and after some thinking (and reading some of people's posts) i decided to try as well.
I'm currently spending my time studying for exams so my updates probably won't be daily and I'm going to try and keep them short. I'm starting straight away with day 3. I'm hoping to catch up with the first 2 later on, but I probably will not be able to do every single day since I have exams until the 14th -- great timing, I know.
Anyway! The challenge for day 3 is:

In your own space, share a favorite piece of original canon (a TV episode, a song, a favorite interview, a book, a scene from a movie, etc) and explain why you love it so much.

I considered picking Mass Effect 1 because of the impact the story had on me and how immersive the universe felt, but since I'm probably going to be talking a lot more about my love for Mass Effect on here later on, I decided against it. I considered Silver's speech to Jim in Treasure Planet, a poem from one of my favourite collections, or a quote from a book on writing I really enjoyed, but I think I already knew inside exactly what I wanted to share.


The amazing moment from Shrek 2 where the fairy godmother belts out 'holding out for a hero' as the scenes cut between her performing it next to a grand piano and Shrek, in human form, coming to save Fiona with the help of his fairytale friends (including the famous Puss in boots scene).
Shrek 2 is one of those movies where you're always going to be surprised by just how amazing it is, and this scene is nothing less of a cinematic masterpiece in my eyes, but it's certainly not because the rest of the movie is lacking. Also, I've come to prefer this version to the original, and even my dad agrees.
If you haven't watched Shrek 2 (and the first one) in a while, may I suggest a marathon? They're both on netflix. (ღゝ◡╹)ノ♡
 
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 09:24 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios