ruico: (Default)
Hello!

the amount of posts I've written out without posting, or written half of and then left to die is no longer something i can really count. so for now I really just wanted to write a short update post with what I'm doing atm.
  •  focus on work! i have a lot of work, but also i want to think about my future career, i don't think i want to stay in my current position. i'd love to try working internationally.
  • reading webtoons! i've been catching up with some manga and looking into new ones recently, but there's something so comforting about the many korean webtoons with barely-existing english speaking fandoms, lol! i recently fell for a really good one that just had all the things i am into, but i'm having trouble finishing it now, since a trope im not big on happened (memory loss... good plot reason but URGHHH insert that gif of someone pressing dolls together while yelling NOW KISS)
  • writing again?? i started this year. i fell out. same with journaling sort of, but i'd like to get back into it. failing once or twice ... or many more times... doesn't mean i can't start again!

i want to talk about so many things! aquascaping! journaling! my goals to do more things i regret! but for now my goal was really just to post something, however short it turns out to be.

slow going

Jan. 23rd, 2022 12:52 am
ruico: (Default)
Hey! I'm still checking the snowflake challenge every few days, I'm just feeling a bit uninspired, and the recent prompts, while wonderful, have me struggling a little bit. I think in general many of the challenges have had me realising how bad my relationship with fandom has gotten, since I sort of had no idea what to recommend, even if there is (obviously) some (a lot) fanworks I enjoy.
I really want to interact with people too, that's the whole reason why I joined snowflake, and I already think I've talked to some really cool people, so I'm grateful -- but still excited to continue and keep talking to more people. Right now I just don't really have the energy for it.

I did ok today, though! I showered and changed my bedsheets, and... well, lol, saying it out loud doesn't make it sound as great as it felt when I finally did it, lol, but I also cleaned the kitchen a bit, and this kind of stuff really does wonders for me. I hope I can continue cleaning my place tomorrow, so it'll be all nice and neat for next week.

Work wise I'm doing pretty alright too, I extended my contract another year, and my boss and coworkers seemed really happy, which made me feel good and welcomed too -- which is also the main reason why I wanted to stay, lol. I don't really feel like I have that many huge issues in my life right now, at least not any at the forefront of my mind, but my mood still plummets quite often rn, because I started feeling very conflicted about what I'm into. I think I was quite spoiled in older fandoms, oftentimes being into the most popular things, and if not, being in fandoms that were at least very welcoming of rarepairs and gen content. Idk... It's probably just my own issues, but at the moment I keep questioning myself and my choices, because from the beginning I was told that X was better than Y, even though I liked Y from the start. I can't even do the usual "enjoying things with just my friends" because none of my friends are into the exact same things as I am, and it's sort of just made me feel worse. And I'm not quite ready to make new friends in the fandom, because so many people are so goddamn awful, lol. I don't know. I probably just have to relax and do something else. Like catch up on my writing goal for the month, or read a book like I wanted to. There's actually a book waiting for me at the library! It'll be my second time attempting to read it, lol, but I'd like to think that my attention span has gotten better again since last.

If all that fails, I also just restarted an old game I never finished. It's so scary and atmospheric, I adore it!! 

I hope you guys are doing good, talk to you soon, hopefully! ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ

ruico: (Default)
 Oo, I adore this challenge! 

Challenge #9 - In your own space, list your Fandom Wrap categories. Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

What are your top five fandoms for 2021 based on the amount of time you interacted with them?
1. Genshin Impact, no doubt.
2. Omniscient Reader's Viewpoint
3. Red Candy
4. I Favor The Villainess
5. Mass Effect (mostly inactive, but I'll never stop loving it)
 
What are your top five fandom spaces in terms of time spent? (AO3, Twitter, Tumblr, Reddit, Dreamwidth, and others)
1. Twitter, sadly...
2. Youtube! See my fandom resources for an explanation, lol. Not much transformative fandom over what I watched, but I still had loads of fun!
3. AO3 - I didn't really read much, but I still got a few fics in, and enjoyed those greatly. Hopefully this year, it'll be higher on the list.
4. Reddit - I am not good at using this one for fandom, lol, but I enjoy checking certain subreddits occasionally! 
5. Dreamwidth -- I was not as active at all as I wanted, but hoping to rectify that this year! 
 
What are the top five ways you interacted in these fandoms? (Reading fanfic, writing, commenting, watching videos, chatting with friends, making art, or anything else you can think of).
1. Chatting with friends. I even had some issues on this front, but I'm still immensely grateful.
2. Writing! Despite not having shared any of my writing yet, I still really had fun with it.
3. Watching videos -- mainly gameplay and theories. Lots of great content out there.
4. Reading fics -- I don't think I commented much, but I really enjoyed it and gave the kudos I could. I hope to be brave enough to engage more with strangers in fandom this year.
5. ... Playing the actual game. I have to be honest, this is what I threw the most hours into, but I wasn't about to put that in as number one, lol!
 
What are the top five things you did to contribute to fandom in terms of time? Did you write? Comment? Send positive energy into the universe? Create art?
1. Playing the game. ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ Way too much. Please get a life, Rui.
2. Talking to friends. I helped out with inspiration when getting stuck sometimes too, so I'd like to think I did play a small part in my friends sharing their works.
3. Writing! I wrote very on and off, my usual "doesn't write for a month" vs "goes into a daze and spits out 30k in a week". Once again I am hoping to become more consistent this year -- I'd rather go slower and continue doing it with less blocks and breaks!
4. Drawing. Just for myself, I know I am really into stuff when it makes me want to draw again for the characters. (ʃƪ ˘◡˘)♡
5. Crying... I wish I was kidding. _(┐「(、ン、)_
 
What things did you create that took the most time?
1. I think it was this story I wanted to write about a character attempting to defy their own fate for the one they loved! I still would like to continue it one day, I got pretty far.
2. I don't remember, haha. I think it might be an introspective series I attempted that was pretty much just about the main character from others' points of view.
3. This one AU I wrote purely for smutty reasons. Will never see the light of day, it is incredibly self-indulgent, and I had a lot of fun with it. ♡
4. I wrote a double agent canon divergence fic -- technically, it could work with current canon, but I'm definitely not expecting the twist to actually turn out to be canon later on. I almost prefer this character as more of a himbo, but I still had fun exploring the dynamics in the story.
5. I spent a lot of time lying in bed daydreaming about scenarios with the characters I enjoy. Time well spent. (*´ ˘ `*).。oO ( ♡ )
 
Have a Top 5 List you'd like to share?? By all means! -- I do, in fact!

Top 5 goals that will make my next year's list look a lot more fun!
1. Write more -- post more. 
2. Be more active on dreamwidth.
3. Don't feel bad about blocking or muting people on twitter, curate your own fandom space!
4. Stop caring about whether you are good enough at stuff before beginning. You sure as hell won't become good enough if you refuse to practice or work on it.
5. Be more decisive and care less.


This one was super fun! I'm happy to see that I'm still hopeful for my future in fandom, and it's nice remembering that despite feeling like it, it's not like I didn't do anything last year. I love questionnaire-style things like this, 

ruico: (Default)
 Happy new year!

I originally wanted to start out the new year with a list of goals or things i wanted to do in 2022 (and onwards) but remembered the snowflake challenge. Since I'm not ready to do the final list, I figured I could start with this. Of course, the challenge proved to be a lot harder than initially expected.


Challenge #1 In your own space, update your fandom information! Leave a comment in this post saying you did it. Include a link to your post if you feel comfortable doing so.

Hello! The main reason why I didn't already make a sticky or an introduction post is that I really suck at stuff like this, it's kind of like when people ask you to put on a song and you're like "music? I've never heard a song in my life" and you instantly forget everything you've ever jammed out to.
An identity? Hobbies? Interests? Not sure that's something I have. Anyway, for the basics, I am Rui, I'm fine with any pronouns, I'm in my mid twenties, and I work as a legal consultant. I've been in fandom spaces for a little over a decade, but mainly started out in local fandoms -- also, I am not a native English speaker, so apologies if my English ever bothers or confuses you, haha. 

I've been in animanga fandoms since 2015, and I've always been a huge fan of video games, which is currently what I'm mainly into fandom wise as well. I, like many others, started playing Genshin Impact in 2021, and it's got a tight hold of me since then. I enjoy all things Genshin, pretty much -- farming, exploring, creating fancontent, theorizing and lore, etc. One thing I'm not so good at is engaging with the fandom. I find it absolutely terrifying, so I'm not actually sure this will ever be happening apart from just talking to a handful of people about it.

Apart from that, I also am very into webnovels, manhwa/manhua/manga, and am trying to get back into watching anime again as well. I'm a big fan of isekai, action, fantasy, and romance. I think I already made a few recommendations ages ago, but I'd like to get a lot better at using this journal, also for going back to see my own thoughts on what I've read and enjoyed.

I don't just want to get back into anime and tv shows, I also am trying to read more again (not counting webnovels and webtoons), and I have a long list of to read books that I want to get through. And I'd love more recommendations any time!

I don't think I currently have any 'main fandoms outside of Genshin Impact, but I'd like to get more into just writing for things I enjoy, such as: Omniscient Reader's Viewpoint, The King's Avatar, Mass Effect, Dragon Age, Honkai Impact 3rd, webnovels, etc.



Recent years, I find myself quite terrified with all the new big fandoms popping up, not that I don't enjoy the contents (see: Genshin Impact), and I remember back in 2015 when I first returned to being active-active in fandoms, where it all started with a mobile-game micofandom. I quite enjoy microfandoms and just creating for my own passion and the handful of other people who are as obsessed with the thing as I am, so I'd like to get back into just enjoying what I want and making fancontent for what I want, such as webnovels or manhwa that barely has any transformative fandoms.

I'm not really sure what this year will hold for me fandom wise, but I'm trying to make it a goal to start reading, playing, and watching more new things again. And to get better at just enjoying stuff at my own pace, because last year I got really stressed with fandom on twitter.

This journal will mainly just be about things I like or find interesting atm -- probably very often fandom stuff, writing related things, etc. You are welcome to join me, comment, or start a conversation any time. :)

This might not be the best fandom information update, but maybe one day I'll actually make a pinned post or write a proper profile -- this was a good exercise for me, though. I'm obviously still trying to figure out where I'm going from here, though.
ruico: (Default)
ahh.. so i got a new job. i'm starting next week!
it's pretty exciting, i think it'll be very fun! but naturally, i'm also absolutely terrified of starting and not being able to live up to their requirements.

 i lost my last job because of depression, at the end it got so bad i would just go to sleep and unconsciously do everything wrong, even the stuff i knew how to do right. i hated it, it was like the definition of sisyphean, same kind of work every day with nothing to show for it that made me feel like what i did mattered.
so, yeah, i had many reasons to hate the old job, which is what i'm telling myself as a reminder that the new one will be different.

another part of me, though, is terrified that i'm just unable to hold a full time job. i got through uni just fine, because i never had trouble learning or picking stuff up fast, even when i hadn't studied at all, but problem is i was lucky enough to be able to not study and still do well on exams, and for jobs you have to work those XX hours a week, and i'm scared that it'll drain me and i'll end up screwing up again.

on the other side, new job means i'll be able to afford things i haven't in a while. i wanted to get an ipad, and i should start saving up for a new place too, since my contract ends at the end of the year, and i want to live closer to the city. another good thing is also that it's actually only a 1 year contract for now, meaning that if it isn't my thing, i won't have to continue after, and i'll have a good reason for only being there for that little when i apply for new jobs.
also there's a lot of different tasks, so i can try out lots of things and find out what i do want to work with as well.
right now i'm terrified, but writing things out, i believe there's definitely more positives than negatives. i also think, since i have become such a homebody, that it's really good that i have to leave my home more again now. and hopefully i'll get better at prioritising in my free time and do the things i really love.

ah.. regarding idk.. fannish life? i've been taking a break from my main fandom since it was making me upset and frustrated, and i've been enjoying myself just reading webtoons! i found one i really really like and others i enjoyed a lot as well! i might make some rec lists, i think that'd be fun considering how many i've read now haha
ruico: (Default)
 my last public post is from jan this year. that's not including all the drafts i wrote out and deleted before posting, or the posts i did publish on private and/or deleted shortly after. much like the state of my dw, i also haven't been able to write much either in general. i've been busy with university (so i guess i have been writing in a way), and at this point i think all of us have been going through a lot this year, so i don't even need to get into any personal matters.

My biggest uni project is coming to an end, though, and recently i've refound my passion for reading, at least within a particular genre and type of work. i'm really hoping to branch out again when i have more time for myself, and i'm really hoping to finally get back into writing again.
i've had a lot of ideas and thoughts abt it recently, so hopefully i'll be able to get started again soon!

something that has cheered me up this year when i felt like i had lost the spark permanently was:

“You are probably the only one with the natural ability to understand this: I am always writing, even when I am not.”
 
— Marcel Proust, from a letter to his mother c. March 1903

it's a quote i remembered when talking to a friend, and it really helped me calm down and stop beating myself up about not writing all of the time. 

there's also another thing i wanted to talk about regarding writing and creating in times like these (when it feels like the whole world is on fire), but i'll save that for another time.

for now, i will do my best to finish what i'm currently going through, since i'm finally near the finish line, and i'll forgive myself for not being able to do all the other things i've wanted to until then. i'm ready to move on and start anew.
ruico: (Default)
I've been gone for a while, and for that I am sorry, not that anyone really reads my posts or cares, but for myself! Because I really want to do this! But I'm not giving up!

A short update:
I've been sort of busy at times and then not really busy at other times but just a general mess, and I can't count the times I opened a draft on here but had trouble actually writing up a post. Also, it doesn't help that I absolutely hate my username now and I am heavily considering changing it (like, buying a name change or switching accounts, depending on how I'm feeling when I actually get an idea for a new one).

Lately, I've gotten obsessed with self improvement stuff. More than usual, I mean. It might be because we're ending the end of 2019 and all those tweets about looking back on what you accomplished are getting to me on a subconscious level (because I am consciously blocking them out completely). Particularly journaling and bullet journaling videos are something I've been spending a lot of time on lately, and I started visiting my acnl town daily again (this is me trying to be responsible, lmao). I am also working on a budget spreadsheet for next year so I can be more aware of how I spend my money, but also to be more aware of lifestyle inflation when I hopefully get a full time job next year after finishing my masters.

I'm just in general feeling a lot more energised and ready to organise my life, and it feels pretty great. I have a lot more hope than usual, and I think it's because I really managed to change something this year that has caused a lot of suffering in my life. Not that I no longer suffer or it makes things a lot easier, but I'm still really proud of myself -- but I kind of want to save that for its own post later on, hopefully after I find a username that isn't an eyesore to me.

Do any of you journal? If so, do you have any particular approach to it? I've learned of so many different ways to do it through seeing youtubers, and it's really interesting to me. I'm still not sure how I want to do it yet, though.
ruico: (Default)
 This week, I caught myself with a problem I had struggled with a lot the last few years, one that I had promised myself not to fall for again, but yet still did. I think I've gotten a lot smarter through the years regarding a lot of life stuff, but somehow I still managed to make this mistake not once, not twice, but... well, I'm not counting anymore.

I tend to only have a very small group of close friends, and whenever these close friends (rarely more than 2) are distant, busy, or possibly even fighting with me, I am left with... absolutely nothing. And while I know I'm an introvert with a capital I and need a lot of alone time, I also get lonely very fast if I feel like others are avoiding me. It's not really anyone's fault, and at this point I am able to tell myself that this person doesn't suddenly hate me out of nowhere but is simply busy with work or something, but I'm also very anxious and a tad paranoid, lmao, so I'm not sure how well I'm succeeding with convincing myself.
Of course, actually talking to my friends about this problem is pretty out of the question for me, because I'm also terrified of seeming clingy or annoying them until they actually no longer like me. Also, I'm very aware that I'm being a hypocrite, since, again, I need a lot of alone time and will also disappear from the face of the earth once in a while to try and cope with existing, haha.

I have one friend who was very aware after I awkwardly one day asked her if she was mad at me and she replied with "oh shit, I forget how you get when this happens, I'm so sorry!" and just. Filled me with words of affirmation, and god, I felt so seen and a little bit ridiculous, but it worked, and I was very thankful. She was aware that I got scared and didn't tease me for it or judge me for mistrusting our bond, and while she doesn't keep this in mind every single time, I also don't mind, because I'd never expect that of her, and just knowing that I can ask her if I get too scared is really, really comforting. 

I also know that a pretty easy solution to this problem would be to get more friends, not necessarily close friends, but just some friends so I'd always have some people around to talk to, but recently I've realised just how bad I am at making friends, especially because I noticed that I only had those 2 (point 5? lmao) close friends I talked to regularly, and because a friend told me she was jealous that I had so many online friends and I had to tell her I hadn't actually really gotten close to a new person for the last 2 years. 
I miss old me! I know it also has to do with the fact that I no longer create in fandom and I no longer really talk to strangers, but dammit is it hard to get started again. It feels like fandom spaces moved on without me and I'm still stuck, two years behind everyone else and unable to catch up.
But I want to change that, I think I mentioned that I finally recently started tweeting again on a public twitter and realised it wasn't going to kill me. I want to start writing again, and feel okay talking to strangers and friends, and to stop questioning everything. Looking back I realise I've gotten through a lot of things the last few years, and I've made a lot of improvements, so this doesn't even seem like the hardest thing for me to do. I think it's possible.

See: other mistakes I keep making and promising myself to get better at, only to find myself in a pretty similar situation 2 years later: growing apart and having trouble dealing with suddenly being not-close with a friend I used to be very close to; being unable to make a choice and leaving myself hanging inbetween so I cannot let go or fully enjoy something either; giving people who definitely aren't interested in improving a second chance; trying to catch up with classes and going overboard first week only to burn out and give up after that (instead of taking it slow lmao); dieting (oof) and many others.
ruico: (Default)
I've made (most of) my previous posts private because I'm feeling... idk. I am struggling with words lately. Of course, I'm struggling with a lot of other things, probably a big reason as to why I'm struggling with my words, but I think (hope) that I am at least going somewhere with what I'm doing.
I want to be okay with my online presence.
Identity problems aren't really anything new for me, and I keep thinking "I just have to do this or that and it'll be fixed!" but it's rarely that simple. In general, I've actually been really bad at sticking to a choice or taking a big leap, keeping it safe most of the time and therefore never really making any meaningful change. Well, recently a lot of things have happened and I've made a lot of choices that I normally would've never been brave enough to. I've always been terrified of regretting doing things, but I'm very tired of regretting doing nothing.

I am writing this post after realising that a choice I've made is now permanent and that I am probably kind of sad about it, even though it probably won't make much of a difference anyway. I also made another choice earlier today -- replying to a tweet on my public twitter that I almost forgot existed -- and while I'm not sure it was the right one or how comfortable I feel about it, I realised that... it really wasn't that big of a deal. Life goes on. And that can be a good thing too. I can't avoid people forming their own opinions about me that don't align perfectly with my own perception, and that's both a comfort and a nightmare. I saw this tweet earlier today and had a good laugh, because it puts my discomfort into words (in a humorous way too). I think my mind has reached a conclusion a la 'Life sucks, now what can we do about it?' and it feels like a call to action.
Anyway, yeah, I want to be on here more often and be comfortable with it too without second-guessing every word. I'm not sure how I'm going to go about it, but I'm excited. 
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 03:21 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios